Would you go on holiday alone?

November 26, 2009 at 2:19 pm 4 comments

According to an online poll by ebookers.com, 1 in 6 Brits would choose to go on holiday alone. Many people who had travelled alone in the past year stated that it was because friends and family were unable to afford the trip, or because they wanted to try something different.
The poll also found that men were twice as likely as woman to travel solo, and that 51% of those aged 18-25 had holidayed alone in the past year. Top destinations for lone travelers included Australia, South America, China and Africa, and the most popular length of time was between 5 and 7 days.
ebookers.com, who have coined the expression ‘soliday’, said: “The recession is changing the way we travel, with people looking at new ways to ensure they can still jet off on a break this year. Despite friends and family impacted by the recession choosing to stay at home, solidaymakers have found a way to plan and book travel carefully to ensure they get a bargain break – even if it means going alone.”
What do you think? Would you go on holiday alone? Leave us a comment or vote in our poll…
Original article at Eye for Travel
Bookmark and Share
tweetmeme_url = ‘http://bedandbreakfastworld.blogspot.com/2009/11/would-you-go-on-holiday-alone.html’;tweetmeme_style = ‘compact’;
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Top Property: Passenger Ship Maria Alberta, Amsterdam, Netherlands BedandBreakfastworld.com is now on Facebook!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Orlaith  |  November 26, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Not so sure I would do a long holiday alone- but would definitely do a weekend away- especially with so many accommodation providers offering single rooms- the cost can still be keep affordable.

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  December 4, 2009 at 1:37 am

    SINCE I’m single for over 10 years now, I decided to travel by myself.
    I’m a 47 yrs old woman, very independant and I traveled to France, Spain, Mexico (2 times, 1 month each) and to Brasil (2 times, 3 weeks each).
    I always had very good experiences and the fact that I speak 5 languages helps a lot. (french, english, hungarian, spanish and portugese from Brasil).
    I love interacting with local people and that makes a whole difference in the quality of the trips I make. To be honest, I would prefer to share all these beautiful experiences and memories with a loved one but in the meantime, I decided to enjoy life to the max. That means I will always continue to travel, as long as I can…with or whitout someone else…

    Reply
  • 3. bedandbreakfastworld.com  |  December 4, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Good for you, anon. It takes a bit of courage to go travelling by yourself but once you do you have so much more freedom than you might if you had someone else’s likes and dislikes to accommodate.

    Reply
  • 4. photito  |  March 18, 2010 at 6:28 am

    I’ve done a lot of my very best travelling on my own. I believe it makes you open to the world in a different way than when you are moving around in a group or couple. It is undoubtedly THE BEST WAY to meet people! In my blog I’ve written a DO’s and DON’t list for solo travellers.
    http://photito.wordpress.com/2010/03/12/going-solo/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

  

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Archives

Top B&Bs and Travel Pics


